Board of Education

The Cocke County Board of Education is operated under policies established by the Cocke County Schools Board of Education. Each member of the seven-member Board of Education is elected to a four-year term. The Board of Education appoints the Director of Schools who serves as the chief executive officer for the school district.


Richard Coggins

Richard Coggins (1)
4641 Tanglewood Way
Hartford, TN 37753
487-3624 (h)

Darla Morgan

Darla Morgan (4)
119 Hwy. 411
Newport, TN 37821

Jimmy Stokely

Jimmy Stokely (7)
597 North Street
Newport, TN 37821
623-3599 (h)

Otha Rolen

Otha Rolen (2)
112 Jonquil Rd.
Parrottsville, TN 37843

John P. Johnson (5)
Chairman Pro-Tem
3211 Bramble Way
Cosby, TN 37722

Rose Lovell

Rose Lovell (3)
1200 Needmore Road
Bybee, TN 37713
623-8193 (h)

Terry Hurst (6)
Board Member
331 East Main Street
Newport, TN 37821

Our Mission

The Cocke County School System, in partnership with parents and community, seeks to provide a safe environment, to meet individual student needs, and to successfully prepare all students to become productive, responsible citizens.

Our Vision

The vision of the Cocke County School System is that all students achieve to their highest potential in all areas of learning, which will allow the Cocke County School System to be a leader in educational excellence and sportsmanship.